Fate

This poem was written for my dad after he passed.  Miss you daddy.  

Fate came at me
with a dancers grace.
It stole my heart
and shamed my face.
Death looked out
to see what it could find.
Took you away, left me behind.
A broken heart
left with no way to heal.
The anger and pain is all
I seem to feel.  
The tears silently
run down my cheeks
and the pain slowly hollows
out my heart after weeks.
No longer will you be there
to walk me down the aisle.
Because of that  I feel great pain
and a sorrow that’s vile.
Sadness has crept
through happiness’ gate.
And left behind is only a memory
of you, who was claimed by fate.

 

4 thoughts on “Fate”

  1. I’m so sorry. Tragic but beautiful poetry. I’m so sorry he won’t be there to walk you down the isle. So sorry.

    1. I am too. I care barely believe he’s been gone for 15 years. Some days I miss him so much and it hurts so much that you’d think it was just yesterday that he passed away. I know he’s there in spirit though.

      1. I believe it too, that our departed loved ones can come and go freely in spirit, and that they will often be nearby, especially at the important times. *hug*

Let me know what you think!

